The organization of USAOCR includes the following committees:

  • Athletes’ Committee
  • Clubs and Teams Committee
  • Development Committee
  • Ethics Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Media Committee
  • Medical Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Para-athletes Committee
  • Safety Committee
  • Technical Committee
  • Women’s Committee
  • Race Director Commission

Much of the work for USAOCR is performed by volunteers who help put on events and training programs and carry out national and regional tasks. Committees have been formed to advise the USAOCR Board of Directors and work with the National Office and other members to promote and improve participation in training and events. All Committees report to the Board of Directors, and all Committee members have the right to attend Board meeting. It is the responsibility of the members of each of the Committees to support USAOCR´s efforts to develop Obstacle Racing and related Sports in the United States. 

Athletes' Committee 

Chair: Ms. Andi Hardy
Vice Chair: Mr. Jason Goggins
Members: Ms. Alyssa Davis Foley, Mr. Marquette Shumate, Mr. Troy Kaster, Mr. Tony Matesi, Mr. Miles Keller

The Athletes’ Committee shall facilitate and promote communication between USAOCR and currently active athletes, and serve as a source of opinion and advice to USAOCR's Board on current and prospective policies of USAOCR. The Athletes Committee shall make recommendations to the Board on issues related to the needs and concerns of the elite athlete members of USAOCR . The Athlete Director shall automatically serve as a member of the committee. The remaining committee members shall either meet the qualifications to serve on governing boards as defined by the USOC or be a current member of USAOCR. There shall be one (1) member representing each of the five (5) regions. 

Clubs and Teams Committee

Chair: Mr. John Greening
Vice Chair: Dr. Ande Wegner
Members: Ms. Jenni Crites, Ms. Casey Rotondi, Mr. Ed Leon, Mr. Jon Greening, Mr. Steve Green, Mr. Jerry Caughman

USAOCR actively promotes clubs and teams to potential members and works to create new programs to encourage activity throughout the club system. Whether you are looking to join or start a club or team, USAOCR has the resources you are looking for. ​

Development Committee

Co-Chair: Rachel Cosgrove

Co-Chair: Madison Spiotta

Members: Michael Mulvey

The Development Committee works with the Athletes Committee on coaching, training, coach certification and athlete development. It also works with the Medical Committee to ensure the health and wellness of Junior, Youth and Adult athletes. 

Ethics Committee

Chair: Mr. Jack Donenfeld
Vice Chair: Mr. Tim Wiseman
Members: Mr. Robert Smith, Mr. Jerry Caughman

The responsibility of the Ethics Committee is to enforces the USAOCR Code of Ethics, and investigate this violations. The Committee is advisory and submits Resolutions to the Board of Directors.

Governance Committee

Chair: Mr. Bob Smith
Vice Chair: Ms. Casey Seland
Members: Ms. Serena Jura Lorenzoni, Mr. Dan Bainey

  • Assures a fair election process  
  • Recommends to the Board any changes in governance that would enhance the participation of members, or the efficiency of the Regional Councils or the Board

Media Committee

Chair: Mr. Justin Manning
Vice Chair: Ms. Simone Waugh
Social Media Subcommittee Chair: Ms. Samantha Wishner
Members: Mr. Geraldo Mercado, Mr. Tony Matesi, Mr. Paul Hoffman

The Media Committee manages all aspects of marketing and media, including social media and PR.

Medical Committee

Chair: Dr. Stuart Weiss
Vice Chair: Dr. Trent Nessler
Members: Ms. Casey Jindra, Mr. Chris Joffe

  • The Medical Committee is responsible for establishing conditions at USAOCR sanctioned competitions, which ensure the health and safety of all participants.
  • Controls all Anti-doping policies and activities of USAOCR. Making sure that USAOCR complies with the WADA code and the IOC and USAOCR anti-doping rules.

Nominations Committee

Chair: Mr. Tim Wiseman
Vice Chair: TBA
Members: Mr. Jerry Caughman
The Nominating Committee shall be responsible for: 

  • Identifies and encouraging qualified members to participate in volunteer governance at all levels 
  • Creates and maintaining programs to stimulate member participation in the election of governance volunteers

Para-Athlete Committee

Chair: Open for Nominations
Members: Mr. Mike Larkin

  • Ensures compliance of races to para-athlete accessibility
  • Represents para-athletes. Ensures compliance of USAOCR with IPC standards

Safety Committee

Chair: TBA
Vice Chair: TBA
Members: TBA

The USAOCR Safety Committee provides advice and proposes policies on safety to the USAOCR Board of Directors. 

Safety of athletes, spectators, staff, volunteer and all people involved with Obstacle Sports, disciplines, events and races is of the utmost important for the continued growth and development of the sport.

USAOCR is committed to developing safety standards in line with international standards and World OCR safety guidelines, ensuring design, build, structural integrity, use, maintenance and procedures meet a minimum standard.

Technical Committee

Chair: Mr. David Magida
Vice Chair: Mr. Shawn Masur
Members: Ms. Serena Jura Lorenzoni, Mr. Miles Keller, Mr. Robert Smith, Mr. Jerry Caughman, Mr. Kevin LaPlaney

The Technical Committee supports the development of the sport. The Committee is advisory and submits Resolutions to the Board of Directors. It's duties are:

  • To supervise the application of the Competition Rules and Operations’ Manual.
  • To prepare Resolutions concerning amendments to the Competition Rules and Operations’ Manual.
  • To propose Technical Delegates for official USAOCR competitions.

Women's Committee

Chair: Ms. Jenny Tobin
Vice Chair: Ms. Serena Jura Lorenzoni

Members: TBA

  • The Women's Committee ensures equal opportunity for women in the sport of Obstacle Course Racing
  • Promotes recognition and representation of women
  • Creates policy for integration of women in all races

Race Director Commission

Chair: TBA
Vice Chair: TBA 

The USAOCR Race Director Commission (RDC) functions as an advisory board to the USAOCR Board of Directors. This commission gives voice to race directors with sanctioned events. There are up to 12 participants on the commission, appointed by the Board and led by a Chairperson. Video conferences are held every quarter.